*** Login to the new SVA Database ***
Club Finder
Club Finder

St Andrews Beach Volleyball Championships 2008

Home / Beach / Beach News / St Andrews Beach Volleyball Championships 2008

28/29 June 2008

[St Andrews Results 2008]    [Pictures]

The second stage of the 2008 Scottish Beach Volleyball Tour was held on the famous West Sands Beach, St Andrews. Red Bull again supported Scottish Beach Volleyball and their Red Bull wig wam surrounded by 12 fluorescent Sportset beach courts and 1 international standard Schelde beach court made a stunning contrast with the adjacent Royal and Ancient Golf Club and the iconic 18th hole. 

St Andrews Beach Volleyball with R&A and Old Course in background

The event format had the junior men and women and Div II competitions completed on the Saturday with the Championships being competed over both days. Again Borders Scottish artist John McPhail created stunning volleyball figures for division winners to keep and he also created two reduced versions of the Championship trophies to be presented annually to again further create a future for the St Andrews Beach Volleyball Championships.

The men’s Div II had the undefeated Paul and Tim McPate semi-final winners over Welsh and Diamond against the ever improving Ruargh Stevenson and US college basketball player Matt Morley who put out the much fancied Sangster and Li. The first of the events finals went to the McPate brothers by 2 sets to 1.

The Junior finals all proved to be Fife affairs, the junior men was a straightforward win for Mathew Webb and Andrew Taylor. However the Junior women’s tournament had the biggest entry on the Scottish tour so far. It was a Fife v Edinburgh contest to get to the Finals, and Fifers Louise McGinlay with Charlotte Masson and Louise King with Chelsea Thomson qualified past B. Aurther with S Hunter and E McGlade with K Sampson. McGinlay and Masson went on to win the final by 2 sets to 0 on the Olympic standard centre court.

The Sunday knock out format produced brilliant games with stunning results in the women’s Div 1. Lynne Brammall and Eilidh Smith defeated Sara Cooney and Nicole Tung while Mel Coutts and Gillian Lyall defeated Shelly Paterson and Amy Fuller. The prospect of the best womens final ever was unfortunately spoiled by a blast of poor weather that stopped just as the women’s final was finishing with a 2 sets to 0 win for Mel and Gillian. All credit to Mel and Gillian who never failed to produce the highest standard of play, no matter the conditions. Not only was this the 2nd consecutive win for Mel and Gillian at St Andrews, it meant that Mel Coutts has now been on the winning team at every St Andrews women’s Beach Volleyball Championships.

In the top half of the Men’s Div 1 draw Bitzer and Lopez knocked out Tim Humphrey and Iain Cook before they themselves were knocked out by No1 seeds Barry McGuigan and Graham Riddle. But it was the bottom half of the draw that produced the real shocks. Colin Paterson with the young Seain Cook first knocked out McKeown and Wodnowski then they knocked out Gordon Teoh and Konrad Krawczyk. However McGuigan and Riddle proved to be a step too far as they won the St Andrews Beach Volleyball Championships with a narrow 2 sets to 1 win.

Colin McGinlay

St Andrews Tournament Organiser