*** Login to the new SVA Database ***
Club Finder
Club Finder

Development Award

Home / Grants & Awards / Development Award

The Development Award is awarded to someone who has increased the participation in and/or the quality of volleyball in a particular area.


2016 Winner  - Ross Allan


Ross Allan was recognised for his work in developing a strong junior volleyball programme at Aberdeen Grammar School (AGS) and establishing a pathway for junior players in the Aberdeen-areaand beyond to develop into talented athletes.  His work over this and previous seasons culminated in the selection of a number of players in the U19 women’s & U20 men’s national teams.   

Ross has been building a strong participation at AGS for a number of seasons now, and has 5 teams competing in the girls’ Junior SVL and in the Aberdeen and South Grampian Women’s District League.  

He has also established several boys’ teams which play at school festivals and schools cup competitions.  Ross is the driving force behind the increased number of players and teams at AGS, and has ensured players continue to develop outside the school’s teams in to higher levels of competition.

These development pathways have seen Ross’ players train and compete at Sneior SVL level with Bon Accord VC and Aberdonia VC during the past season.  

His work has seen Aberdeen win their first ever schools cup national titles and players get capped at senior international level in only a few short years since starting Volleyball in Aberdeen Grammar. 

Apart from his work at AGS, Ross also regularly coaches at regional development days, further increasing participation of junior volleyball players in the Aberdeen-area.  

His hard work, understanding, willingness to build partnerships and raw enthusiasm for development have been a shining light in Scottish Volleyball. 


2016 Ross Allan
2015     Gerry Phillips
2013 Helen McGibbon
2008 Jess Reid
2007 Michael McConville
2005 Peter Campbell
2004 Craig Faill
2003 Ian Brownlee
2002 Ronnie Constable 
2001 Alan Byrne
1999 Neil MacDonald
1998 Ian McAllister 
1997 John Scobie
1996 Jim Ferguson
1995 Bill Stobie
1994 Sandy Steel
1993 Jess Reid
1992 Dave Munro
1991 Malcolm Mclean