*** Login to the new SVA Database ***
Club Finder
Club Finder

Long Service Award

Home / Grants & Awards / Long Service Award

Long Service Award

This award is given to an SVA member who, over a period of many years, has given a high standard of service and extended commitment to the work of the Association.


2016 Winner - Margaret Brown


Margaret Brown retired in 2016 as PE specialist @ Queensferry Cluster Primary Schools.

As City of Edinburgh Volleyball Club celebrated 20 years, it is worth reflecting that all 6 teams have players who were introduced to the game by Margaret. Indeed the City of Edibnrugh reporesentation at the CEV European Championships and 2016 School Games, the majority of CoE players started off volleyball with Margaret.

Not only has Margaret run extra curricular volleyball clubs at her primary schools for over 20 years now, she also took the step of introducing volleyball into the school curriculum as one of the 6 core sports activities. Her schools attended the SVA school festivals programme every year.

It is a testament to Margaret's dedication to volleyball that even in the run up to retirement she has started a new extra curricular volleyball club @ Queensferry primary school to get another generation of players on their way in volleyball.


2016 Margaret Brown
2015     Jim Ferguson
2014 Lynne Marshall & Michael McConville
2013 Jennifer Downs & Alan Byrne 
2011 Paul McPate
2010 Jim Houston 
2008 Barr Robertson
2006 Allan Thomas
2003 Liz Moody
2002 Morag Thow
2001 Alan Bryce
1999 Barry Robertson
1998 Elspeth Eggo
1997 John Scrimgeour
1996 Morag Brown
1995 Linda McNaughton
1994 Frank Leighton
1993 Neil McDonald
1992 Donnie McPherson
1991 Kenny Anderson